Eucharis

I’ve moved to DanielTsou.com!

Creative is getting desperate

Posted by Daniel T. on December 8, 2005

Saw this on the net just now. The Creative Zen Vision:M

Creative’s version of the iPod 5G. If you noticed, the interface and size is very close to Apple’s. I can safely say they copied the iPod intentionally. I used to get real affected about it, and I could write a page long article about why Creative is a disgrace to Singapore, but I realised to consumers, they don’t care if Creative cares more about competitors than its customers. All they care is that their product works and is good. So here’s my view on the Creative Zen Vision:M vs the Apple iPod:

Why the Zen is better:

  • More video compatibility (No conversions required)
  • More functions (FM radio + voice recorder)
  • OLED screen (Better than LCD)

Why the iPod is better:

  • Better interface (An interface is about both looks and control, and as much as the zen has the same menu system, it’s buttons are still messy)
  • Longer audio battery life (14 hrs vs 11 hrs)
  • iTunes (As much as there’s no drag and drop, I like the way it helps me organise my music better)
  • Slim
  • Accessories

I own a video iPod and if I ever had to choose between both, I’ll still go for the iPod. That’s basically because I love iTunes, and as much as iPod is not as file-friendly compared Creative’s players, the internet and the IT world always tries it’s best to be iPod-friendly. Which is the advantage of the iPod being so famous and so loved. Who cares if it’s not that format friendly. The rest of the world adjusts to it automatically. To me, the iPod is like THE default way for digtial media, and the rest are just alternate ways to go.

That’s just me I guess. Personal preference. Like I said, Creative’s “desperateness” to beat Apple, it’s intentions and attitude in it’s business doesn’t matter anymore to a consumer. Don’t think it ever did in fact.

Leave a Reply

 
